Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Awards of Excellence
Share |

Awards of Excellence

Recognize Those Who Make A Difference

HRMAC Leader of the Year Award

More than ever before, today’s workforce must be prepared to support the changing needs of business, and business must be prepared to support the changing needs of  its workforce.  

Many strategies are highlighted in business and consumer publications, "best of" employer lists are compiled, and accolades are bestowed upon the largest and smallest organizations for exceptional results. 

Behind each of those companies are singular leaders, champions of HR whose professional expertise is outside the profession, who had vision, made choices and guided their boards, their leaders and their workforce to business success by creating an environment that supports the personal and professional goals of the workforce. It is one of those leaders who we aim to recognize through this annual award. 

It may be a CEO, a line of business executive, or another non-HR senior management executive who has demonstrated the ability to execute leading-edge human capital practices while realizing business strategy success. 

Criteria for a nominee:

  • Generally recognize a body of work, not limited to a single year.
  • Provides outstanding service to and accomplishments in the field of Human Resources and business, in general.
  • Recognized as a thought leader who has championed the HR profession.
  • Demonstrates successful collaboration with HR in executive strategy to drive superior business performance in his/her organization.
  • Exhibits the highest qualities of leadership within his/her organization.
  • Displays the highest standards of professional ethics.
  • Must be an employee of a HRMAC member company. 

Criteria for a nominator:

Past Leader of the Year Award Recipients:

2017 - Mary Dillon, CEO, Ulta Beauty

2016 - Mark Hacker, EVP and CAO, Motorola Solutions

2014 - Andrew P. Studdert, Chairman & CEO, NES Rentals

2013 - Brian Gamache, President & CEO, WMS Gaming

2012 - Jim Bell, President & CEO, Veolia ES Technical Solutions

2011 - Randy Lewis, SVP, Supply Chain & Logistics, Walgreen Company

2010 - David McDonough, President/CEO, The Trustmark Companies

2009 - Joseph Golbus, M.D., President, NorthShore University Medical Group

2008 - John E. Rooney, President and CEO, U.S. Cellular

HRMAC Volunteer of the Year Award 

Volunteers have always been the secret formula in HRMAC’s 100 year journey. Founded by a handful of local personnel directors in the early 1900s, our volunteer roster now includes over 225 member representatives annually. There are scores more who never make it to the official lists, but provide mission-critical support for the exceptional experience members enjoy with every HRMAC encounter. 

This award is designed to recognize such commitment and passion. Whether a committee volunteer, a group chair, an expert who has shared their wisdom in an extraordinary manner, or a behind-the-scenes wizard who creates magic, this is our chance to shine the spotlight on one who makes a difference without asking for anything in return. 

Criteria for a nominee:

  • Long-term, multi-faceted volunteer service to HRMAC, primarily through committee service or similar contributions.
  • Provides distinguished service in helping to further the HRMAC mission.
  • Considered an “unsung hero” who goes “above and beyond the call of duty”.
  • Displays the highest standards of professional ethics.
  • Must be an employee of a HRMAC member company. 

Criteria for a nominator:

Past Volunteer of the Year Award Recipients:

2017 - Andrea Barry, CEBS, CCP, Chief Human Resources Officer, Methode Electronics 

2016 -  HRMAC Centennial Chairs – Steering Committee and Working Groups
Sharon Brady, Chair, Steering Committee
Claudia Colalillo, Chair, Celebration Event
Paul Schneider, Co-Chair, Sponsorship
Marc Ugol, Co-Chair, Sponsorship

-  Arlis A. McLean - Retired
            Amy W. Mysel - Mysel Consulting, LLC

2014 - Maureen Conway, Founder, Conway + Associates
           Martha Watt, Vice President, Sales and Marketing, The Cara Group, Inc.

2013 - Brian Clarke, Kensington International

2012 - Moira Madell, Madell Consulting

2011 - Frank DiLeonardi, Towers Watson
 Bill Doucette, NES Rentals

2010 - Paul Duski, Robertson Lowstuter
 Pamela Wilson, Kensington International

2009 - Ron Sipiora, Aon Consulting

- Becky (Bacidore) Meggesin, Nicor, Inc.
 Lyndy Nierman, BPI Group